The Federation of Maytree Nursery & Infant School & Mount Pleasant Junior School

On 3rd January 2023, following a period of consultation, the Governing Bodies of Maytree Nursery & Infant School and Mount Pleasant Junior School were dissolved and a new Federated Governing Board was formed across both schools.  The Federation remains part of the Co-Operative Education Trust known as the Aspire Community Trust.

Governors meet several times across the academic year and fulfill the following key functions:

  • Set the strategic direction of the schools and monitor its implementation.
  • Hold senior leaders to account for the educational performance of the schools and pupils, acting as the critical friend.
  • Oversee the financial management processes to ensure money is well spent.

The Governing Board includes skilled individuals from the local community who have volunteered to use their knowledge and experience to support the leadership in the monitoring, evaluation and continual improvement of the schools, keeping children at the heart of every decision they make.

Type of Governor Name Pecuniary Interest Responsibilities Term of Office Relationship to member of staff/Governor

Local Authority

Mr Rashid Brora Director of Southampton Medina Mosque Trust Ltd and Muslim Council of Southampton. Chair of Governors.

Science & Computing Champion.

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 Brother to Mrs Shamim Ali (Maytree staff)
Executive Headteacher Mrs Emma Kerrigan-Draper Executive Headteacher of Maytree Nursery and Infant School and Mount Pleasant Junior School.

Author of Sage Publishing.

Ongoing None
(Vice Chair)


Mr Carey Moore None Vice Chair of Governors.

Finance & Resources.

Yr R & Yr 4 Champion

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.
(Vice Chair)


Miss Hayley Sheath Teacher at Cantell School. Vice Chair of Governors.

SEND Governor.

English Champion.

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.
Trust Mr Harry Kutty Chair of Aspire Community Trust.

Headteacher & Governor of Cantell School.

Trustee for Sports England, Sports Council.


Yr 2 & Yr 6 Champion.

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.


Mrs Forhana Choudhury HLTA at Maytree Nursery & Infant School. PE, PSHE & Language Champion. 03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.


Mrs Nazia Kousar None. Health & Safety.

Art & Design, Design Technology & Music Champion.

06/02/2023 to 05/02/2027 Niece (Zaynab Ali) is a teacher at Mount Pleasant.


Mrs Qurrat Ul Ain None. Maths Champion. 06/02/2023 to 05/02/2027 None.


Mr Rashidul Islam None. Yr N & Yr 3 Champion

Geography, History & RE Champion.

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.
Co-Opted Miss Zaynab Ali Teacher at Mount Pleasant School. Geography, History & RE Champion. 08/02/2023 to 07/02/2027 Aunt is Nazia Kousar.


Dr Kath Woods-Townsend Councillor for Valley Park Parish Council.

Member of Education Advisory Committee for Royal Society for Public Health.

Member of Kids Council at UK Active.

Parent Governor of HISP MAT.

Yr 1 & Yr 5 Champion.

Science & Computing Champion.

03/01/2023 to 02/01/2027 None.
Clerk to Governors


Mrs Janice Singleton Employee and Clerk to Governors at Springwell School.

Clerk to Governors at Weston Schools Federation.

David L J Babey & Son, Cabinet Makers & Joiners (Brother’s business).

N/A N/A None
The Federated Governing Board currently has one Co-Opted Governor Vacancy.

Attendance at Federated Governing Board Meetings