Governors (old)

The Governing Body of Mount Pleasant Junior School meets regularly across the academic year and is part of the co-operative education trust known as the Aspire Community Trust. Currently all business is conducted within the Whole Governing Body Meetings and there are no official Committees. 
Key functions of the Governing Body are to:
  • Set the strategic direction of the school and monitor its implementation
  • Hold senior leaders to account for the educational performance of the school, acting as the critical friend.
  • Oversight of the financial management processes to ensure money is well spent.
Instrument of Government
Type of Governor Name Pecuniary Interest Responsibilities Term of Office Relationship with member of school staff
Chair/Local Authority Governor Mr Rashid Brora Director of Southampton Medina Mosque Trust Ltd and Muslim Council of Southampton Chair of Governors, Year 6 Champion, Science Team Champion. 30/11/18-30/11/22 No
Foundation Governor Mr Harry Kutty

Headteacher of Cantell School.

Chair of Aspire Community Trust.

Governor of Cantell School and Bassett Green Primary.

Safeguarding Governor, Y6 Champion, Well-being Team Champion 08/09/21 – 08/09/25 No
Headteacher Mrs Emma Kerrigan-Draper Author of Sage Publishing Ongoing No
Staff Governor Mrs Julia Clarke TA at Mount Pleasant Junior School Health and Safety Governor and Arts Team Champion. 04/04/19-04/04/23 No

Vice Chair

Parent Governor

Mr Julio Carrillo None Vice Chair, Y4 Champion, SEND Governor, HTPM Review Group. 22/11/18-22/11/22 No
Foundation Governor Mrs Jan Goatley Headteacher and Governor of Maytree Infant School Finance, Y3 Champion, Humanities Team Champion. 19/11/18-19/11/22 No
Co-opted Governor Mr Rashidul Islam None Y5 Champion, Humanities Team Champion. 16/11/18-16/11/22 No
Parent Governor Mrs Nazia Kousar None Y3 Champion, Well-being Team Champion. 22/11/18-22/11/22 Niece is a teacher at MPJS
Co-opted Governor Mr Carey Moore None Y4 Champion, Finance 08/09/21 – 08/09/25 No
Co-opted Governor Dr Kathryn Woods-Townsend None Y5 Champion, Science Team Champion. 08/09/21 – 08/09/25 No
Clerk Mrs Janice Singleton

Employee and Clerk to Governors at Springwell School, Clerk to Governors at Weston Schools Federation.

David L J Babey & Son, Cabinet Maker & Joiners (Brother’s business)

Resignations/End of Term of Office
Type of Governor Name Pecuniary Interest Committees Term of Office Relationship with member of school staff
Co-opted Governor Mrs Satvir Kaur Chair of Governors at Maytree Infant School, Aunt to a Y4 Student. Arts Team Champion, HTPM Review Group Resigned 7th September 2022 No
Parent Governor Sara Raja None WGB Ended term of office October 2021 No
Foundation Governor  Mark Baghurst ACT School Improvement Officer WGB Resigned September 2021 No
Co-opted Governor Jill Ghanouni None WGB Resigned March 2021 No
Parent Governor Mr Elmi Abdiwali None WGB Resigned November 2020 No
Co-opted Governor Gareth Griffith None WGB Resigned June 2020 No
Associate Member Nina Tank None Resigned July 2019 No
Parent Governor Mr Siddiqui Esmail None WGB term of office ended March 2019 No
Governors’ Attendance At Meetings